What are some common misconceptions about fields in physics?

In summary, the conversation revolves around the understanding of vector and tensor fields in physics. The participants discuss the concepts of observing a field from a point, the application of 3rd-order tensors in real-life physics, and the changing nature of the curl of a vector field depending on the measurement point. The example of the Earth's gravitational field is used to illustrate how the field values can vary at different points. The conversation also touches upon the idea of arbitrary vector values and their direction.
Isaac0427
Insights Author
Hi all! I am a 13-year-old that is very interested in physics. I am currently studying fields, and I have gotten into some advanced parts of field theory. With that, I have 3 big questions:
1. In vector and higher order tensor fields, what does it mean to "observe the field from point (x,y,z)?" I fully understand how to use the equations to get a column (or row) vector, and how to draw a vector from it, but the vector seems to change depending on what point I plug in (with most equations). I understand how this works mathematically, but I would love to know how it works applied to a real-life vector field so I can understand it better.
2. What just doesn't make sense to me is a 3rd-order tensor. Again, I understand it as a mathematical concept, but not at all as a concept applied to real-life physics.
3. This one is fairly straight foreword: Does the curl of a vector field change depending on the point it is measured at? From what I understand the answer is yes, but I just want to check.

Physics news on Phys.org
1)observing a field is just a physicist saying "the value of the field at point such and such". the vectors are supposed to change from point to point. the vector fields you are studying are "real-life" vector fields.