What Are Recommended Calculus Books for Self-Study?

In summary: This is done by multiplying the top and bottom by the conjugate of the denominator, x+h. This gives us:\frac{d}{dx}\left(x^{x}\right) = \text{lim}_{h\rightarrow0} \frac{\left(x+h\right)^{x+h} - x^{x}}{h}Now, we can use the power rule to simplify the expression:\frac{d}{dx}\left(x^{x}\right) = \text{lim}_{h\rightarrow0} \frac{\left(x+h\right)^{x} \cdot \left(x+h\right)^{h} - x^{x}}{h}Applying the chain rule, we get:\
Ben09
I'm a college student needing to take calculus 2 this fall. However, I have not taken calc 1, so since I'm good at teaching myself I'm planning on giving myself a crash course in the material covered in calc 1 over this summer. Can anyone recommend a good calculus book for someone who's fairly good at math but has limited experience with calc? Thanks!

Mathematics news on Phys.org
Hm.. It's going to be pretty hard for you to excel in calc II without taking calc I, frankly, I'm not sure how you even got enrolled into a calc II class without having calc I under your belt, but it's not my business.

There's a book called the calculus life saver, which may be of interest to you. Hope this helps.

PROTIP:
Rules for differentiation:
  1. derivative of a constant
    In general, if [itex]f(.)[/itex] does not depend explicitly on some variable, say [itex]x[/itex] it's derivative is zero:
    [tex]
    \frac{d}{d x}\left(C\right) = 0
    [/tex]
  2. derivative with respect to the argument:
    [tex]
    \frac{d x}{d x} = 1
    [/tex]
  3. rule of sums
    [tex]
    \frac{d}{d x}\left[ f(x) + g(x) \right] = \frac{d f(x)}{dx} + \frac{d g(x)}{dx}
    [/tex]
  4. product tule
    [tex]
    \frac{d}{d x}\left[ f(x) \cdot g(x) \right] = \frac{d f(x)}{dx} \cdot g(x) + f(x) \cdot \frac{d g(x)}{dx}
    [/tex]
  5. chain rule
    [tex]
    \frac{d}{d x} \left( f[g(x)] \right) = \left. \frac{d f(u)}{du} \right|_{u = g(x)} \cdot \frac{d g(x)}{d x}
    [/tex]
  6. derivative of the exponential function