What are Cosmic Rays and How Can They Help Us Understand the Universe?

In summary, the conversation discusses a second year physics grad student who is looking for suggestions on a cosmology-related topic to present to their department. They mention that they are limited in their understanding and background, but are interested in exploring new and interesting ideas. One suggestion given is to look into cosmic rays, which are highly energetic particles that can help theoretical physicists learn more about the universe. The conversation also mentions the potential danger of cosmic rays for human space travel and the possibility of learning more about our universe through these particles.
Cluelessluke
Hey there! I'm a second year physics grad student and I've been asked to give a 30 minute presentation to my department on something about cosmology or a cosmology-like topic.

I've been hunting the archive for weeks and I can't find anything too interesting (that I can understand) to talk about. The "that I can understand" is key. I'm going to need to understand what I'm talking about in order to present it, of course, but seeing that I'm only a second year (my first year consisted of studying for the qual) I don't have much of a deep background yet to really grasp most of the concepts in those papers.

Does anyone know of any new interesting ideas related to cosmology that someone of my background would be able to understand enough to give a presentation on?

Any suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated! Thanks for your time!

Physics news on Phys.org