Downloading Linux: What You Need to Know

• Thread starter RBS_5
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Linux
In summary, Open source is a system where people share their ideas and work together to create something better.
RBS_5
Hey does anyone know if i can download Linux full version from the net or is it neccesary to buy the CD ? :confused:

Computer science news on Phys.org
The best thing about Open source is it's free. You can download it http://linuxiso.org/

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks a lot ,
do you recommend it?

I honestly don't, unless you want to learn more about your computer.

If you're a total newbie then I suggest picking up a book with the CD on it although that will set you about $ 50 or
try the Knoppix distribution which you can boot from the CD.

but as a newbie redhat would also be good. and RBS 5 i can see that you are new to the opensource community, you will love it. as for me it saves me money.

Thanks a lot guys ..
im starting to love this forum , so helpful. :)

Thanks but I already started downloading redhat =)

Nooooo... Redhat (A.K.A Fedora) sucks. I use it and knoppix. Knoppix is much more user friendly. Redhat does not come with any goodies, like mp3 support, java plug-ins, and Media players, just to name a few. Knoppix is much better. To install some software on Redhat you have to hunt down RPM's which is very easy, but with knoppix all you have to do is type "apt-get install (whatever program)" You can also try it before you install it without any worries. It will run in memory and will not write info on to you hard drive.

I'm a newbie to Linux and am using Red Hat 9.. I like it, and no doubt others prefer different distributions, but it works, it is good, and it was free!

brookstimtimtim said: