Nature of Time ( settle a bet)

• Thread starter Scott Kinzie
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Nature Time
In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of time as a dimension and whether it is a proven fact or a theory in the realm of physics. The participants mention the special and general theories of relativity, the Lorentz transformations, and quantum mechanics as relevant to this topic. They also discuss the unification of time and space and the idea of treating time as a separate dimension. The general consensus is that while the concept of time as a dimension has been widely accepted and supported by experiments, it is still open to further exploration and understanding.
Scott Kinzie
Hey Everyone,

Please help settle a bet between a co-worker and myself. Neither of us are trained physics (I have a philosophy degree and he has a computer science degree), but we are both "amateurs" interested in physics.

OK, here's the issue: My friend argues that time, explained as the "fourth dimension" of space-time is a cold hard fact that has been proven by many experiments and observations. I, on the other hand, claim that this view of time is still just a "theory"; that although this theory seems to satisfactorily explain many of the experimental results and physical observations thus far, that the absolute Truth of the nature of time has not yet been "proven" since there are exceptions to the theory (as in quantum physics, for example) and we are all still "learning" about physics and physical truths every day. This is not to say that we should not "follow" the theory and continue to use it since it HAS proven very stable in various equations and physical applications, but we should also be aware that new experiments and understandings may show that this theory is incorrect or incomplete.