Want to study higher level engineering

In summary, many people feel that doing a master's after your undergraduate degree is a good idea, while others feel that it's not as beneficial if you don't have work experience.
ramzerimar
Hello, I'm currently majoring in ME with keen interest in fields like mechanical vibrations and fluid dynamics/aerodynamics. There is a ton of stuff that I want to learn in those fields that aren't typically in the subjects of a ME course. I want to work doing CFD and FEM analysis for vibrations and aerodynamics problems, and I have interest in aeronautics, renewable energies and so. For me, going for a Master's after college is a natural step.

On the other hand, many people I've talked to said that doing a master's straight out of college can be harmful, because you would have no work experience and finding a job would be more difficult.

So, I'm wondering if this is a path I should follow. Any hints?

Physics news on Phys.org
The counter point of view is that if you don't do a master's after your undergraduate degree, you might not get the chance to do one later once you're working and have other life commitments - mortgage, other loans, family to support, etc.

In some cases your employer might support you in pursuing a master's degree, so that might be an option. I wouldn't just expect it going in though, especially not in a competitive market.

I think this is one of those situations in which there is no definitive right or wrong answer - just advantages and disadvantages on both sides. So you have to look at each seriously and consider which applies best for your particular situation. If the market happens to be slow and you're having a hard time getting a job, maybe pursing a master's degree is a better option at the moment. If you can get a good job that's doing or at least leading towards what you really want to do, you might not want to give that up.

Likes ramzerimar