Want to become a mechanical engineer

In summary, if you want to pursue a career in mechanical engineering, you will need to be prepared to do well in calculus. It is also important to brush up on basic mathematics before starting your engineering degree.
Warbandit
Hey, everyone I finally made up my mind on what carreer path I want to get into, but the problem is that it deals with a great deal of math. The same math I rejected as a child. I'm now 20 and since I'm not good at math as of right now I must start from the basic does anyone known the best books to practice on to jump start my math gear

Physics news on Phys.org
Probably the best place to look is in this forum:

https://www.physicsforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=178

Great career choice, btw - best of luck!

Last edited by a moderator:
If you are interested in mechanical engineering, you will need to be thoroughly prepared to jump into calculus. From the way that you worded your post, it seems to me that you will be lacking in your knowledge of algebra. If this is the case I would recommend working your way through the introductory math courses (ie intro -> trig -> college algebra) at your university/community college of choice before even starting your engineering degree. However, if you feel VERY comfortable with algebra and trig then you should be alright starting your degree in engineering. A solid background in trig and algebra is essential to avoid being "weeded out" in the first years of engineering.

If I were you, I would spend 1-1.5 years at a community college to brush up on mathematics in preparation for the beast known as mechanical engineering. It may sound like a long time, but (done correctly) math takes time to truly absorb and understand.