VSl as an alternative to cosmic inflation

In summary, the article presents a model suggesting that the speed of light could be slightly different in the very early universe, which would allow for certain cosmological problems to be solved. There are some immediate questions that come to mind, and the theory would need to be tested to see if it matches existing observations.
windy miller
It has been proposed that a varying speed of light can resolve certain cosmological problems thought to be solved by cosmic inflation. An example is this paper here by Albrecht and Magueijo:
https://arxiv.org/pdf/astro-ph/9811018.pdf
and this paper by Moffat
https://arxiv.org/abs/gr-qc/9211020
I would be interested to hear peoples thoughts on the strengths and weaknesses of this approach.

Space news on Phys.org
I haven't looked into it in detail, but I actually talked with Andy about this very model back when I was a grad student (~2006 or so). His conclusion at the time was that he felt the model just wasn't very useful and wasn't interested in working on it further. At the time, I took that to mean that he felt the idea both unlikely and didn't seem to offer room for interesting new theoretical ideas.

My personal feeling for this kind of model is that it's really, really difficult to reconcile its full implications. It's such a radical change to how we understand basic physics that it would change everything. It would require coming up with both a new theory of gravity and a new theory of quantum mechanics which allowed for the possibility of a variable speed of light. And then we'd have to go back and make sure that the new, modified models matched with existing observations. This is a monumental task.

Likes windy miller
kimbyd said: