Very Basic Maths Assignment (sorry i'm a newbie) based on profit and graphs

In summary: Homework statementIn summary, the builder needs to build at least 5 luxury and 10 standard houses to maximise his profit.
adste89

Homework Statement

Firstly I'm sorry to bother all of you that will find this question really basic but I haven't studied Maths since GCSE 7 years ago and I am now doing a degree in Engineering without A Level Maths so any help would be great...I need to work out the algebra and the main issue is how to plot it on a graph!? I'm guessing I need to use y=mx + c but I'm not sure how to do that on excel.

A builder has a plot of land available on which he can build either luxury of standard houses.
He decides to build at least 5 luxury and 10 standard houses. Planning restrictions limit him
to no more than 30 houses altogether. A luxury house requires 300m2
of land and a standard
house 150m2
. The plot is 6000m2
. Profit is $12; 000 per luxury house and $8000 per standard
house. How many of each type should he build to maximise his profit.

Thank you anyone that can help!

Adam

Physics news on Phys.org
ok so here is what I have worked out so far...

Luxury Houses = x
Basic Houses = y

(300x + 5y) + (150y + 10x) = 6000m2 i'm not too sure if this is correct

I also came to the conclusion for graph purposes the answer might be y= -0.5x + 10 ?

I also know the most profit is £280,000 with 10 luxury houses and 20 basic.

You need a change of variables. you know you need a certain number of lux and std minimum and you know the maximum houses so subtract the mins from the max to obtain something along the lines of:

30-10 -5 = x+y => y = a function of x

you can then replace all y with the function of x and can solve this 2 variable question as a single variable. Remember to subtract the area of the min requirements from your total area btw.