Verifying Time Dilation, Length Contraction & Space-Time Curvature

• Thread starter shounakbhatta
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Reality
In summary: Time dilation is experimentally verified, for instance GPS would not work if we would not account for time dilation. Length contraction is not and it is probably not even possible to experimentally verify length contraction.The curvature of spacetime is a bit tricky. If you consider gravitational time dilation curvature of spacetime then the answer is yes, it has been experimentally verified by measuring the effect the Sun has on light rays from far away stars or the red- and blueshift between signals on Earth at different heights. However if you only consider the strong gravitational effects (e.g. the deviation from Euclidean spacetime) curvature of spacetime then it has not, at least not directly
shounakbhatta
Equations or reality...

Hello all,

I am new to physics forum and very stupidly I don't have a background or formal education in science. I have one simple question:

Time dilation, length contraction, curvature of space-time, are they all mathematically deducable through equations or can they be physically verified by some experiments?

Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org

Global positioning system (GPS) is the everyday experimental confirmation.

Why don't you back up in this forum and click on the link called "FAQ: Experimental Basis of Special Relativity"?

There're probably more experiments listed there than you will want to investigate. After all, it was the famous Michelson-Morley Experiment that got this whole thing started.

shounakbhatta said:
Time dilation, length contraction, curvature of space-time, are they all mathematically deducable through equations or can they be physically verified by some experiments?