Electrical Safety Hazards in Automotive Batteries - Coventry U

• Thread starter Alireza
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Electrical
In summary, a new member of the forum is seeking urgent help with a course work about Electrical Safety, specifically regarding automotive batteries and their potential hazards. The member has provided a main question to be addressed, and other forum members have offered information and explanations, including the potential for electrocution and skin resistance as a defense against it, as well as the differences between an automotive battery and a carbon-zinc battery. Other hazards such as burns and welding are also mentioned. The conversation ends with a warning about duplicate posts and the thread being moved to the Engineering Homework Help forums.
Alireza
Hi Guys; as you can see I'm very new;)
I'm studying in Coventry University, and I need urgent help[b(]

I have to do a course work about Electrical Safty which I have no clue about it.

I was wondering if you guys can give me a link or some information about my question, it will be appreciated.

the main question which I have to write about it (around 100 worlds) is:

An automotive battery currently operates at a normal 12 V d.c. This voltage level is normally considered inherently safe. Explain why the automotive battery still represents a safty hazards.

Thanks in advance...:smile:

Physics news on Phys.org
When charging, an automobile battery releases hydrogen gas. When “jump starting” another vehicle, connect positive terminal first and than connect to a frame member at some distance from the battery to avoid an explosion from possible sparking when the connection is made.

As far as electrocution, it occurs due to “cooking” via resistance heating, or by having sufficient current density passing through the heart. There may be nerve stimulation (let go threshhold)but I believe that is much less a factor as compared to alternating current in the 50-60hz range