UWaterloo vs Universities of Ottawa and Carleton

• Schools
  • Thread starter whatsssuppp
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Universities
In summary, the conversation discussed the options for a high school student in Ottawa, Ontario who is considering studying engineering. The student is deciding between staying in Ottawa at uOttawa or Carleton, which have good industry connections and offer scholarships and lower tuition, or going to uWaterloo for its reputation and co-op program, but with higher tuition and living expenses. The consensus is that all three universities offer good engineering education and co-op opportunities, and it ultimately depends on the student's priorities and preferences.
whatsssuppp
Hi everyone. I'm a high school student in Ottawa, Ontario. I am thinking about going into engineering.

Here in Ottawa there are 2 universities - uOttawa and Carleton. Both are good universities and have decent industry connections. If I choose to stay in my city then I will be much better off financially - both universities would offer scholarships of $4000/year and tuition is around $6000/year. I'll also be staying with my parents so that will save me a lot of money.

Then there is uWaterloo. Its tuition is around $10000/year and it MIGHT offer me $2000 worth of scholarship just for 1 year. I will also be spending lots of money on rent & food.

The only reason why I'm considering uWaterloo is because of its reputation and co-op program. If I stay in Ottawa and do co-op then I can only get 3 work terms. If I go to Waterloo, then I can get 6 work terms. This, and Waterloo's reputation might make it easier for me to get a job once I graduate. And that is what matters to me the most - getting a good job after university.

So, with all of this info in mind, please tell me how I should proceed. Is uWaterloo's reputation and co-op program worth the financial setback?

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PhysicsForums!