UV-Vis spectroscopy: non-bonding electrons and chromophores

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of UV-Vis spectroscopy and the role of chromophores in absorption of light. It is stated that absorption occurs when electrons go from ground to excited state, with non-bonding electrons making the transition easier. However, the molecule also needs chromophores, which are responsible for selective absorption of light with a wavelength of 180-800 nm. There are different types of transitions that can occur, such as pi-pi anti-bonding and non-bonding-sigma anti-bonding, depending on the molecule. The presence of non-bonding electrons in chromophores is not necessary for absorption, as seen in the example of benzene. There may be confusion about the
LanaK
Hello everyone,
I'm just learning about UV-Vis spectroscopy, I have some questions and I would be really thankful for help.

It's stated that apsorption happens when electrons go from ground to excited state. And that transition to excited state is easier for non-bonding electrons which I imagine as ones which do not form a bond.

But then it's said that molecule needs to have chromophores to absorb, so more unsaturated bonds, and here I imagine those electrons being inside the bond. But is that maybe wrong? My question is - do chromophores have non-bonding electrons then which allow a molecule to absorb?

I'm a little bit confused. For sure I lack some theoretic knowledge about molecular bonds, but I hope you understood what I wanted to ask.

Chemistry news on Phys.org
By the definition chromophore is group of atoms responsible for selective absorption of light with wavelenght 180-800 nm. There are few types of transition (depending on molecule) that can occur after light absorption. In UV/VIS spectroscopy we are mainly talking about electronic transitions. So there are few types of transitions, for instance:
  • pi - pi anti-bonding;
  • non-bonding-sigma anti-bonding etc.