Using software to solve eigenvalues of Hamiltonian

In summary, if you need help using Maple or other software for finding eigenvalues of the energy using the Hamiltonian, I suggest consulting with your professor and colleagues, as well as doing some background research on the topic.
4finger
This is my first time posting in this forum, or any, so I'm sorry if something is out of place.

I'm doing undergrad research with a professor on quantum supercomputing and I need to use some software to find the eigenvalues of the energy using the Hamiltonian. He suggested I used maplesoft or this applet but I don't understand how these programs work.
http://fermi.la.asu.edu/schmidt/applets/seqn/plugschroedinger.html

My knowledge in this area doesn't extend very far. I've taken modern physics where I learned in general about quantum mechanics but not in depth. They mentioned that the Hamiltonian operator exists but never used it, I also saw it in classical mechanics. That's also where I learned about eigenfunctions while studying angular momentum. We solved it by taking the determinant but that only works for a discrete case and the Hamiltonian is continuous. I wouldn't know how to find the eigenvalues for a simple potential such as V=x or even V=5 let alone for this complicated one. I'm taking full quantum mechanics this term but that class only starts on 9/13.

The potential is roughly (x-y)^2/7.44 - cos(x), where x is the variable and y is the external flux. It comes from this article
http://www.physics.ucsb.edu/~martinisgroup/papers/Kofman2007.pdf
From what I understand, I have to find the value of the flux that will create a potential such that the left well will have 3 energy states and I need to find out exactly what those states are. It's not possible analytically so I have to use some kind of program for it. I'm still trying to figure it out using Maple and the applet. I can get a graph of the potential but I don't understand how the rest of the applet works.