Finding if a solution exists

• Thread starter vladimir69
  • Start date
In summary, scientists determine if a solution exists by conducting experiments, collecting data, and using mathematical and statistical methods. Factors such as complexity, resources, and feasibility are considered. A solution may not always exist. Common methods used include trial and error, mathematical modeling, and experimentation. Finding a solution contributes to scientific progress by identifying problems and advancing knowledge and understanding.
vladimir69
hi
this is my first attempt at using the latex commands ..
consider this Cauchy Problem:
[tex]
u_x\exp y +u_y\exp(x)=1
[/tex]
[tex]
u(t,tk^2)=k\exp(-t)
[/tex]
where k is a constant.
forgive me i have given up using latex as i am too slow, it would take me a week to type it up at this rate. anyway
i am trying to find the values of k where
a) this problem has a unique solution
b) no solutions

for part a) i know that it all boils down to showing where the vector (1,k^2) is never parallel to ( exp(t*k^2), exp(t) )
i eventually get to:
t can't be equal to 2ln(k)/(1-k^2), however the question asks for values of k and i haven't done that. but i don't know any way to find explicit values of k

for part b) i just said t=2ln(k)/(1-k^2)

is it reasonable to give the answer in the form i have? I'm not sure
hope you can help

thanks,
vladimir

Physics news on Phys.org

Hello Vladimir,

Welcome to using LaTeX commands! It can take some time to become familiar with them, but they are very useful for writing mathematical expressions and equations.

Let's take a closer look at the Cauchy Problem you have presented:

\begin{align*}
u_x\exp y +u_y\exp(x)&=1 \\
u(t,tk^2)&=k\exp(-t)
\end{align*}