Use of the Beam Splitter Operator

In summary, the beam splitter operator has the form: ## \hat{B} = e^{\frac{\theta}{2}(\hat{a}^{\dagger}\hat{b}e^{i\phi} - \hat{a}\hat{b}^{\dagger}e^{-i\phi})} ##and I have tried using the Baker-Campbell-Hausdorff Relation that says:## e^{\hat{X} + \hat{Y}} = e^{\hat{X}}e^{\hat{Y}}e^{-\frac{1}{2}[\hat{X},\hat{Y}]} ##
BeyondBelief96
TL;DR Summary
Want to understand how to properly apply or decompose the beam splitter operator.
Hello, I am a senior undergrad doing research in quantum optics, and I am trying to work out at the moment the output state of sending a coherent state through one input port and a squeezed vacuum state through the other, just to see what happens tbh. The problem I have constantly been running into is how to properly decompose the beam splitter operator to apply it to the input states.

The beam splitter operator has the form: ## \hat{B} = e^{\frac{\theta}{2}(\hat{a}^{\dagger}\hat{b}e^{i\phi} - \hat{a}\hat{b}^{\dagger}e^{-i\phi})} ##

I have tried using the Baker-Campbell-Hausdorff Relation that says:

## e^{\hat{X} + \hat{Y}} = e^{\hat{X}}e^{\hat{Y}}e^{-\frac{1}{2}[\hat{X},\hat{Y}]} ##

If and only if ## [\hat{X}, \hat{Y}] ## also commutes with ## \hat{X}## and ## \hat{Y} ##

The way I have tried to decompose this operator is letting ##\hat{X} = \frac{\theta}{2}e^{i\phi}\hat{a}^{\dagger}\hat{b}##

and ## \hat{Y} = \frac{\theta}{2}e^{-i\phi}\hat{a}\hat{b}^{\dagger} ##

however when doing so I find that the commutator ## [\hat{X},\hat{Y}] = [ \frac{\theta}{2}e^{i\phi}\hat{a}^{\dagger}\hat{b}, \frac{\theta}{2}e^{-i\phi}\hat{a}\hat{b}^{\dagger}] = \frac{\theta^2}{4}(\hat{a}^{\dagger}\hat{a} - \hat{b}^{\dagger}\hat{b}) ##