University physics with modern physics

In summary, the conversation is about the book "University Physics with Modern Physics" and whether the modern physics portion is enough to test out of a modern physics class. It is advised to speak with the instructor of the class to determine if the material in the book covers enough for the test. The book covers topics such as special relativity, quantum physics, and optics.
unsung-hero
Ok, currently I am studying a book called University physics with modern physics. I am only studying classical mechanics at the time. My question is, the modern portion part of it, is it about the same material taught in introductory modern physics class(state university) or do i have to get a separate book just on modern physics?

The reason I am asking this is because i am allowed to skip classes by testing out of them. So, i want to test out of modern physics and i was wondering if the modern physics portion of this book is enough?

Physics news on Phys.org
I think there's enough variation between intro modern physics courses at different schools that you had best talk to whoever teaches that course at your school, especially if he's the one who will write the test that you would have to take. :oldwink:

I think that's Giancoli, from the title.

The "Modern Physics" section includes what you'd find in the first few chapters of a Modern Physics book: special relativity and a bit of quantum and atomic stuff. It also has a few optics-related chapters towards the end, depending on your school that may fall into modern physics or University Physics 2.

Related to University physics with modern physics

1. What is the difference between classical and modern physics?