Understanding Traceless Compression in Solid State Physics: An Explanation

• Thread starter savasagduk
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Compression
In summary, "traceless" in solid state physics refers to the sum of the diagonal elements of the stress tensor being zero, which implies a combination of compressive and tensile stress components. "Traceless compression" specifically means that at least one uniaxial stress component is compressive and another is tensile. This is a common occurrence when squeezing most materials, as it conserves volume in the elastic regime. However, the term "traceless compression" is not commonly used and there is no specific definition for it.
savasagduk
Hi I'm a beginner in solid state physics. My question is :

What does it mean "Traceless Compression" ?

In matris terms "traceless" means product of diagonal elements is zero .

is this the same thing ?
Thank you for any help .

Physics news on Phys.org
savasagduk said:

is this the same thing ?
Thank you for any help .

I cannot find an online reference to this, but I have never heard of another definition for "Traceless". Compression or Shear, traceless is traceless in a matrix.

"Traceless" means the sum of the diagonal elements is zero. :wink:

tiny-tim said:
"Traceless" means the sum of the diagonal elements is zero. :wink:

I missed that, sorry. Still, traceless compression is the same use of traceless as in shear or any other matrix, correct?

Patrus89 said:
I missed that, sorry. Still, traceless compression is the same use of traceless as in shear or any other matrix, correct?

I assume so. :smile:

savasagduk said:

is this the same thing ?
Thank you for any help .
I've never heard that term. For the stress tensor to be traceless, at least one of the uniaxial stress components needs to be tensile, while another one needs to be compressive.

If you do find a reference that explains this term, please post it here.

Hi Gokul! :smile:
Gokul43201 said: