Understanding the Infinity Sign for Beginners

In summary, the question is about the relationship between angular velocity and velocity in regards to a satellite in a higher orbit. The "infinity" sign is actually the Greek letter omega, used to represent angular velocity in radians. The angular velocity is proportional to both the radius and velocity, and further understanding can be found in discussions on Newton's Law of Gravitation and Keppler's Laws.
vipson231

Homework Statement

Question is in attachment
Can someone explain to me what the infinity sign is I'm new to this topic.

All I know is that as a satellite goes to a higher orbit that the velocity decreases.

Attachments

• veloc-infinity.jpg
    veloc-infinity.jpg
    6.7 KB · Views: 477
Physics news on Phys.org

It looks like that "infinity" sign is really a greek letter omega, "ω". It is the symbol used for angular velocity when given in terms of radians.

Oh ok. The only knowledge i have of angular velocity is it determines how fast something is turning. So wouldn't the angular velocity be proportional to the velocity and since the satellite is going to a higher orbital, the speed would thus decrease and so if angular velocity is decreasing, wouldn't the velocity be decreasing as well? =}

Angular velocity depends on both the radius (of the orbit) and the velocity. I would expect your textbook to have a discussion of how ω, v and r are related. There should be other important information in the book's sections on Newton's Law of Gravitation and also Keppler's Laws. If you're really stuck on understanding this problem, you'll want to go over those parts of your book. Post back with questions if you don't follow it.