Understanding the Disappearance of Light: A Physics Newbie's Question Answered

• Thread starter strmrkt
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Light
In summary, the conversation discusses the behavior of light and water when entering a dark room. The summary explains that the light is absorbed by the air, floor, and walls, while the water eventually dissipates and is absorbed into the room's substance. The conversation also mentions the concept of energy and how it is transferred and absorbed in different materials.
strmrkt
Hi, I am new to physics, so this might be a stupid question.

Imagine a pitch black room. If you open the door and shoot water into the room and then close the door, the water will still be in the room.

If you do the same thing, but this time with light instead of water. How come the light disappear from the room when you close the door? Why isn't the photons caught in the room?

Science news on Phys.org
The light hits the wall and get absorbed by the wall.

strmrkt said:
Hi, I am new to physics, so this might be a stupid question.

Imagine a pitch black room. If you open the door and shoot water into the room and then close the door, the water will still be in the room.
Not forever! Eventually it will be absorbed into the air, floor and walls.

If you do the same thing, but this time with light instead of water. How come the light disappear from the room when you close the door? Why isn't the photons caught in the room?
They are absorbed into the air, floor, and walls, like the water, just much faster.

More specifically, when photons encounter matter, they tend to get absorbed, transferring their energy and heating up the matter. So, once the door is closed, the room will be slighter warmer than before. That's where the photons have gone.

Interesting thread, "This space for rent" I love that. Good play on words.