Understanding the dipole model for Rayleigh scattering

In summary, the conversation discusses the topic of Rayleigh scattering and the derivation of equation 1.2.1 from the book "Scattering of electromagnetic waves: theories and applications" by L Tsang, J A Kong and K-H Ding. The conversation includes notes and calculations on a plane wave with wavelength \lambda incident on a particle of size D\ll\lambda and the resulting induced oscillatory electric dipole. The conversation also addresses the confusion over whether the physical object produced by the dipole is the potential or the field, and the differences between the expressions for the electric field radiated by the dipole.
IridescentRain
Hello.

I am currently studying scattering theory in detail for my BSc thesis, and I'm starting with Rayleigh scattering. I'm following Scattering of electromagnetic waves: theories and applications by L Tsang, J A Kong and K-H Ding, which is pretty much what I like in a science textbook: descriptive but concise. I'm stuck deriving equation 1.2.1, however, and I've looked at other books and websites for hours with no result. The following are the notes I've gathered (mainly from that book, with a few additions from others and my own calculations); some of the calculations may be a little long, but I'm including every step so you may see which things I understand and which ones I don't (as well as exactly where everything comes from):

Consider a plane wave with wavelength [itex]\lambda[/itex] incident on a particle of size (maximum distance between points within the particle) [itex]D\ll\lambda[/itex]. Say the electric permittivity of the (homogeneous) medium surrounding the particle is [itex]\epsilon_m[/itex]. Omitting the time dependence [itex]e^{-i\,\omega\,t}[/itex], we may write the incident electric field as
[tex]\vec{E}_i=\vec{E}_o\,e^{i\,\vec{k}\cdot\vec{r}}.[/tex]