Understanding the Delta Function Well in Quantum Mechanics

In summary, the book is discussing potentials and how they relate to particles and scattering. It explains that for an even, finite square well, the ground state has the particle living in the center of the well; for an infinite square well, the particle wants to live in the middle of the well far away from the walls. It also explains that for an even, finite square well, the particle should minimize its energy while in the ground state; but for an infinite square well, the particle should maximize its energy. Finally, it explains that for a negative delta function potential, there is an attractive force and the particle would like to hang out near the origin; while for a positive delta function potential,
Poop-Loops
So I'm studying that part right now. I only get parts of it though, it seems.

The first thing the book goes over (This is intro to QM by Griffiths) is a potential that has the form -A*deltafunction. Okay, that's just something he plucked for simplicity.

But then if the potential is lower than the particle's energy at that point, why does the math work out so that there's a higher chance of finding it there? When we did problems with a modified infinite square well, where the bottom was V = 0 up to some point, then V = X afterwards, there was a higher probability of finding the particle where there is more potential energy (V = X), just like there would be classically.

I don't understand why the particle would "hover" at that point instead of leaving even faster.

The other thing is that this relates to scattering, right? I get it when you flip A and just get V = A*deltafunction, so that V is infinite, you have a barrier, and then you get scattering proper, i.e. the particle either hits the wall and bounces back or goes through.