Understanding Tension Force: A Beginner's Guide to Physics

In summary: Looks right. But where the answer is the result of multiplying and dividing a bunch of inputs, you should not quote more significant figures in the answer than in the input number with the fewest. So 668N is a better...
jamiebean
Homework Statement
A block of mass is suspended from the ceiling by a string as shown in the figure below. Two forces F1 and F2 cause the string to bend as shown in the figure. The section AB of the string makes an angle of α=43.5 degree with the horizontal line. The mass of the block is m=46.9kg. What is the tension of section AB of the string? g=9.8ms-2 The answer should be in unit of N.
Relevant Equations
f=ma
I am new to physics
03qwYrZ6T0u2H%PHrcywcQ.jpg

I have no idea how the forces work and how to calculate the tension with f=ma
thank you very much..

Physics news on Phys.org
First of all, what is the acceleration of the system?

If you understand resolving forces in different directions or finding the horizontal and vertical component of a force, that will help.
Then you can consider the forces at A or B and look just at the vertical or just at the horizontal forces.

jamiebean said:
I am new to physics
thank you very much..
Have you been taught to draw free body diagrams? Draw one for point B. Consider the balance of forces.

jamiebean said:
I am new to physics
How new and to what level?
Without the bend of the string (##F_1=0## and ##F_2=0##), could you solve the problem?

Gaussian97 said:
First of all, what is the acceleration of the system?

is it g=9.8 ?

Lnewqban said:
Without the bend of the string (##F_1=0## and ##F_2=0##), could you solve the problem?

u could assume that I know nothing about forces haha

haruspex said:
Have you been taught to draw free body diagrams? Draw one for point B. Consider the balance of forces.
like this?
fH5q4rHHTt2ufAASn4liog.jpg

Lnewqban said:
Ft=46.9kg x 9.8 + 46.9x0
=459.62N

?

jamiebean said:
is it g=9.8 ?