Understanding some unfamiliar words

• Thread starter mr.tea
  • Start date
In summary, Thomas, the node numbers are a way of numbering the nodes in a region. The coordinates of the nodes can be found in the coord1.txt file. The elements can be described using just the node numbers, so that you don't need to repeat using the actual coordinates.
mr.tea
Hi,

I have a python project to do that related to building a mesh class that represents triangles.
(I am a bachelor student of mathematics in my first year, so all this material is pretty new to me)

I should get as an input two matrices:
*one which represents the coordinates of the nodes.
*one which represents the elements(triangles) using the node numbers.

My problem is that I really don't know what it is node numbers. How do they numbered?

I have attached the file of the project
I really can't start doing it without understanding those words and what do the numbers in the matrices represent.

Thank you,
Thomas

Screenshot from 2015-12-24 18:12:56.png
Screenshot from 2015-12-24 18:13:06.png
Screenshot from 2015-12-24 18:13:16.png

Physics news on Phys.org
mr.tea said:

My problem is that I really don't know what it is node numbers. How do they numbered?
The nodes are the points at which the vertex points of the triangles meet, I believe. The node numbers are just a way of numbering the nodes. Take a look at the files that are mentioned in your problem. The first pair of numbers in coord1.txt should give the coordinates of a node. The first number in elementnode1.txt should identify the first node that is listed in coord1.txt.

Likes mr.tea
Mark44 said: