Understanding Shock Sensor G-Force Ranges & Outputs

In summary: If you are looking for a sensor with a certain range, you would need to find a sensor that has that range. Piezo crystal sensors generally have a range of 10,000g-20,000g. A sensor that has a higher range would be better because it would be able to measure smaller shocks. The maximum acceptable acceleration for a piezoelectric sensor is 50,000g. If you are looking to measure shocks that are above this range, you would need to use a different sensor.
samodelov.1
I have no experience with shock sensors and am looking for some insight. The ones I have found say a range in g's (example - range: 10,000g) and then give a maximum value. I was wondering if the range would be similar to a minimum that the sensor is able to read or how close to the given range I would have to be in order for it to give me an output. Supposedly, it is not going to give any output if there is just some weight on the sensor (if I understand correctly), but can it be damaged if a weight (well below the maximum) is placed on it for a sustained amount of time? Thanks!

Engineering news on Phys.org
I'd doubt that you can damage it by putting on a small (but reasonable) load on top of the IC, because, well, you're probably not actually causing the sensing element to actually do anything (more than likely, you're just applying this load to the device package). I'm not a devices expert, however, the designs that I've seen have micro paddles inside of a cavity that deflect whenever the device is accelerated. However, something like a strain gauge or force meter (where a load is applied and then measured) is a different beast altogether.