Understanding Proportional Counter Circuit

In summary, the conversation revolved around a graduate student's project on creating a system for a simple gas filled proportional counter. The main concern was how to connect multiple counters to a single preamp in a correct and cost-effective manner. Possible solutions were discussed, including using a voltage divider circuit, a single preamp with a differential amplifier, a circuit with two preamps, and an operational amplifier circuit. The student expressed openness to feedback and mentioned using LTspice to generate and test input and output signals.
KillMartin
TL;DR Summary
In study and developing a proportional counter, I ran into the problem of how should I connect multiple counters to one single preamplifier correctly (and cheaply).
Hi, I am a graduate student currently studying on the topic of simple gas filled proportional counter. In the effort of trying to make my own system, I ran into this problem that how should I connect multiple counters to one single preamp correctly (and cheaply).

This is the circuit I'm working on right now for a single proportional counter. The schematic is produced with LTspice. Where the tag "Out" would be the input for the charge sensitive preamp that is not shown.
1639001962189.png

I came up with these following possible circuits as a complete electronics novice shooting in the dark.
1639002214167.png

1639002422311.png

Any comment would be greatly appreciated as I am trying to learn. I am currently reading on how to use LTspice to generate the input signal I want so I could play around and test to see the output signal.

Physics news on Phys.org