Understanding Moving Object Formulas: F=ma, Ke=1/2mv2, and p=mv Explained

• B
  • Thread starter beginner952
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Formulas
In summary, the formulas F = ma, Ke = 1/2mv2, and p = mv all relate to a mass that is moving. F = ma shows the relationship between an object's acceleration and the force applied on it. Ke = 1/2mv2 gives the kinetic energy of a moving object, and p = mv represents the momentum of a moving object. These formulas can be used to determine the force needed to make a given mass accelerate or gain momentum. However, in the case of a ball hitting a stationary object, the force is not as important as the coefficient of restitution, which is determined by experiment. F = ma applies when a force is applied to an object, causing it to accelerate, and the
beginner952
I am a beginner. First post. My question regards 3 formulas that relate to moving objects and I don't understand their differences. F = ma. Ke = 1/2mv2. And, p = mv.
They all relate to a mass that is moving. How do they differ?

Physics news on Phys.org
One of them relates an object's acceleration to the force applied on it, another gives the kinetic energy of a moving object, and the third is the momentum of a moving object.

axmls said:
One of them relates an object's acceleration to the force applied on it, another gives the kinetic energy of a moving object, and the third is the momentum of a moving object.

Thank you. I understand that much. What I don't understand is how they are used. For instance; I am a baseball fan and I am interested in the basic physics of bat and/or ball movements and force. If a ball is moving at 90mph and weighs 5 ounces it has 20250 of Kinetic energy. It has 450 of momentum. How are these used to determine Force? If at all. And where does the "a" in F= ma come from?

beginner952 said: