Understanding Miller Indices: Decoding Notation in Scientific Literature

• Thread starter Entropia
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Indices
In summary, the conversation is about the confusion surrounding the notation used after the (h,k,l) numbers in Miller indices. The speaker has searched for explanations and sources but has been unable to find a clear answer. Finally, a link is provided that discusses the notation and its meaning in relation to crystal planes.
Entropia
I am new to understanding Miller indices (its never been covered in a class that i have taken etc) and there is a notation that i am seeing in the scientific literature that i don't understand. -Its the notation used after the (h,k,l) numbers. here are a few examples (I put in bold print the bit that I don't understand):

Ge(100)-2 x 1

Ge(111)-2 x 8

S/Ge(111)-2 x 2

I have looked at various intro to miller indices type of sites, but none of them make any mention of what the notation means after the (h,k,l) notation.

Physics news on Phys.org
I assume that it is the offset in the unit cell. If I find a link I'll edit it in, but let me just give the justification for the need for this sort of thing.

As an example, consider NaCl. The (001) surface is always parallel, but its chemical composition could be either a plane of sodium atoms, or a plane of Chlorine atoms.

Nope, it turns out that the N x M defines a surface that violates the crystal symmetry in a N x M pattern. Here's a link:

"Real Surfaces"
http://www.cem.msu.edu/~cem924sg/LectureNotes.html

Thanks for the learning.

Carl

Last edited by a moderator:
Thank you for your reply.

I am still confused though. The explanation in the miller indices section of the link only talks about simple miller indices notation, and the notation for stepped surfaces (not so simple).

I did not find anything that fits the pattern for the miller indices notation that i am extremely confused about.

Or, did I miss something?

Thanks! :)

Miller Indices!

Help!