Understanding Kirchhoff's Voltage Law in Circuit Analysis

In summary, Kirchhoff voltage law can be used to find the current through a battery from point A to point B. The current will be smaller than 1 A if the voltage across the battery is 2 volts or less.
luysion
Hello.
The question appears not to complex! however I am been on break (and still am haha) but I saw this in an old exam paper and its bugging me that I don't know how to do it!

heres the question;
http://img59.imageshack.us/img59/9868/dfdfmu.jpg

Kirchhoff voltage law comes to mind. However I am confusing myself. I thought that the current across each resistor in one of the closed loops can't be the same? or can it?
anywhos ignore my little rant. Id really appreciate if somone could explain to me the answer cheers.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Is there a way to simplify the circuit to find the current from the battery? Look at how the resistors are arranged.

I am new to this as well in my circuits class, so anyone correct me If I am wrong.
At point A the voltage from the battery hasn't reached any electrical resistance yet, correct?
So would not the voltage be the same since as it started 2 volts because it hasn't reached resistors yet?
And solving for current would be just doing a little algebraic manipulation of one form of the equation for voltage

[itex]V=IR[/itex] and resolving to find current [itex]I=\frac{V}{R}[/itex]

?

I think I might be way off... :(

Last edited:
Start from the right of the circuit. There are some resistors in series.

What would be the size of one resistor that could replace these three resistors?

[URL]http://upload.wikimedia.org/math/0/1/5/01541fd01585b4f8ba5ac819e4abc042.png[/URL]

Then, take this new resistor and put it in parallel with the 4 ohm resistor. What is the formula for two resistors in parallel?
dc55458c0154c67e7e8eed2b2e5b835a.png

So, you could put one resistor in here that is equivalent to the 4 resistors.