Understanding Gauss' Law for Electric Fields

In summary: I'm kind of lost in what I'm doing, what I'm studying, that's why I'm kind of piecemeal-ing my way through everything. I was hoping to understand some basic principles of E&M so I can understand some quantum mechanics...Which I am aware is a long way off.But yeah, I just wanted to understand the basics of the basics, which I guess is only ever going to be a piecemeal process for me.Thanks for the help though, I guess I'll just leave this for now and move on to something easier (I was using A Student's Guide to Maxwell's Equations for guidance)In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of Gauss' Law for Electric Fields and how it
sponsoredwalk
Hi I'm just making sure I'm understanding the information I'm getting from
"A Student's Guide to Maxwell's Equations"
The book is talking about Gauss' Law for Electric Fields

[tex] \bold{E\cdot n}\;\; = E cos (90) = 0 [/tex]

Does this mean that the full electric field is going through the surface?

Could you mention maybe one or two examples of when this happens?

What does it mean to say it's at a 30 degree angle,
is some of the electric field coming out?

Could you also mention maybe one or two examples of when this happens?

How can that be when Gauss' Law for Electric Fields
concerns a closed surface?

I'm really only beginning this Maxwell's equations properly and am unsure of what some of it means.

(: Please Let Me Know, Gratias Vobis Ago :)

Physics news on Phys.org
sponsoredwalk said:

Could you mention maybe one or two examples of when this happens?

What does it mean to say it's at a 30 degree angle,
is some of the electric field coming out?

Could you also mention maybe one or two examples of when this happens?

How can that be when Gauss' Law for Electric Fields
concerns a closed surface?

I'm really only beginning this Maxwell's equations properly and am unsure of what some of it means.

(: Please Let Me Know, Gratias Vobis Ago :)