Understanding Force Basics: How to Calculate Impact and Damage from a 0.4m Fall

In summary, the conversation discusses the potential damage that might be caused to a person falling 0.4m off a step. The individual has no background in physics and is seeking the simplest explanation. They mention concepts of force, acceleration, and gravity, and the need to calculate the net force at the stopping point. The conversation also discusses the impact force and the type of falling, as well as the importance of considering the person's weight in calculating the force applied to them.
Tracee
I need help. I have no physics background so need the simplest of answers.
I have a question to answer - about the damage that might be caused to a person falling 0.4m off a step.
The questions doesn't ask for specific calculations but ask for concepts of force, acceleration and gravity to be applied and some equations and diagrams to show the results. My reseach so far suggests I need to work out the net force at stopping point - does this sound correct. Once I have that I can research further on the possible damage from this force.
Also, I imagine I'd have to give the person a weight of say 70kg to work this out.
I did do a calcualtion of time based on 70kg and 0.4m ending with 0.28 seconds. I have no idea if this is correct.
Help!

Physics news on Phys.org
.28 seconds is about right for the time it takes for someone to fall .4m. If you've been able to get that far, you should be able to figure how fast they're moving when they hit the ground.

When they hit the ground, their speed will fall to zero. What force is required to do that? That's the impact force that does the damage, and it depends on how quickly they're brought to a stop - concrete stops you more quickly over a shorter distance than a nice soft pad.

The type of falling can also determine the "damage".