Understanding Electromagnetic Induction: Flux and Induced e.m.f.

In summary, when studying electromagnetic induction, it is important to understand that the flux is greatest when the angle between the conductor and magnetic field is 90 degrees due to the area through which flux lines pass. Additionally, the induced e.m.f opposes the change that induces it by creating a current with a magnetic field in the opposite direction, often referred to as the Lorentz force.
accountdracula
Warning: Formatting template must be used in the Homework sections of PF!
I'm studying electromagnetic induction and I'm trying to understand a couple of things:
Why is the flux greatest when the angle between the conductor and magnetic field is 90 degrees?
How does the induced e.m.f oppose the change which induces it?
My thoughts:
The flux is greatest when the angle between the conductor and magnetic field is 90 degrees because there is the greatest magnetic flux density within the coil when this condition is met. Is this correct and is this the only reason?

Induced e.m.f creates a current which has a magnetic field around it which is in the direction opposite to that of the magnetic field which induces the e.m.f, thus cancelling it out. Again, is this right?

Physics news on Phys.org
accountdracula said:
I'm studying electromagnetic induction and I'm trying to understand a couple of things:
Why is the flux greatest when the angle between the conductor and magnetic field is 90 degrees?
How does the induced e.m.f oppose the change which induces it?
My thoughts:
The flux is greatest when the angle between the conductor and magnetic field is 90 degrees because there is the greatest magnetic flux density within the coil when this condition is met. Is this correct and is this the only reason?