Understanding Classical & Quantum Coherence in Optics

In summary, second-order coherence allows for distinguishing between different types of light fields and provides information about the underlying photon number distribution. Quantum coherent states have all orders of correlation functions equal to unity, indicating a classical-like regime. They are defined as such because they exhibit properties of classical light fields and are easier to measure in terms of correlation functions.
valleyman
Hello all, I'm studying classical and quantum coherence in optics and I can't understand what's the physical meaning of second order coherence. I mean, what's the fundamental difference between it and the first order one? I know they are defined differently but I can't see in which case and why it could give more info than 1st order (exception made for recognizing if the light beam is classical or quantum). And, regarding this, what are, physically, quantum coherent states? why are they defined so? The common answer could be "because they are all orders coherent" but what does it mean?
Sorry for all those questions but I'm really confused:confused:

Physics news on Phys.org
valleyman said:
I mean, what's the fundamental difference between it and the first order one? I know they are defined differently but I can't see in which case and why it could give more info than 1st order (exception made for recognizing if the light beam is classical or quantum).