Understanding Chem. Pot.: ΔU, μ, R, N/N(all)

• Thread starter petko10
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Chem
In summary, the change in internal energy in a thermodynamical system is given by the equation ΔU=T.ΔS - p.ΔV + Ʃ μ.ΔN. The chemical potential, μ, represents the potential that one particle of a given substance would add when being added to the system. It is calculated using the equation μ=μ(0) + R.T.ln( N/N(all) ), where μ(0) is the standard chemical potential and N/N(all) is the relative concentration of the substance. The Universal Gas Constant (R) is used because the equation for the chemical potential is derived from the equation for the molar chemical potential. The potential added by a particle is lower in
petko10
Hello everyone ,
I'm a medical student from Bulgaria and I'm having problems understanding the following :

In a thermodynamical system the change in internal energy is: ΔU=T.ΔS - p.ΔV + Ʃ μ.ΔN

μ is the chemical potential that one particle of a given substance would add when being added to the system (with const. S and V) .

μ = ΔU/ΔN ;

Our textbook says that :

μ=μ(0) + R.T.ln( N/N(all) )

where μ(0) is standard chemical potential (the chem. potential in a system with only that kind of substance)
and N/N(all) - the relative concentration of the substance.

Now what I do not understand is :
1. Why use the universal gas constant (R) (and not Bolzmans constant) when chemical potential is about a single particle .
2. Why is there a difference in the potential that a particle adds to the system in relation to the concentration of that type of particle in the system ??

I know that the matter is pretty narrow , so if no one has any idea , please direct me to some source , because I couldn't google the answers to the questions so far.