Undergraduate research for prospective graduate students

In summary: It's not that difficult to find a good class on theoretical physics, its just that its not typically covered in an undergraduate physics curriculum.
Paulther
I'm beginning to look at grad schools for theoretical physics and was wondering how important research is in this field. As an undergrad there really isn't any theoretical physics research I could pursue and I was wondering if I should be looking for any research opportunities in other branches of physics. I'm specifically interested in cosmology and relativity.
Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
Hey Paul, you sound a lot like me, I'm also an undergrad trying to get into theory as a career.
I don't think I would try to focus on theoretical research as an undergrad, but some experimental research could make you seem well rounded. Obviously if you're interested in cosmology and relativity, you should try to get some research in those fields, but it's a money pit, and it's really competative. I wouldn't limit yourself to those two fields when looking for research. You also might be able to find some kind of hybrid research. That is, doing experiments in theoretical fields. LIGO is trying to detect gravitational waves, which are still only theoretical, but they're doing it by looking for red/blue-shift in photons bouncing between 2 (really far separated) plates due to space time being warped by these waves. So there's a theoretical field that has experimental research going on. The deadlines up for this summer, but they have an REU that they do every summer that might be worth looking into. However, if you get it next summer and I don't... I'll find you ;)

Wow! Thanks a lot, great response

Note that theoretical physics is not a branch or field of physics. Every field and branch of physics has theory and experiement. Fields of physics are things like atomic, nuclear, condensed matter, etc.