Undergraduate degree to graduate degree in Nuclear Engineering

In summary, the conversation discusses the best undergraduate degree to pursue for a graduate degree in nuclear engineering. The options considered are electrical engineering, physics, and other branches of science and engineering. The conclusion is that physics or mechanical engineering would be better preparation for a graduate degree in nuclear engineering, as they cover important topics such as heat transfer, fluid dynamics, and material science, which are essential for understanding and designing nuclear reactors.
axmls
I'm currently an undergraduate in electrical engineering. There aren't any nuclear engineering programs in my state, but I'm highly considering getting a graduate degree in nuclear engineering following my undergraduate degree, because it's very interesting to me. However, I'm wondering whether staying in electrical engineering would be the best option.

I'm only a freshman at the moment, so it wouldn't be too much of a problem to switch to another degree program. Would it be better for me if I switched my major to physics as a way to lead into a nuclear engineering program? As far as electrical engineering is concerned, I was thinking the power aspects of it would be helpful for nuclear engineering, but I'm not sure as to what extent.

What would prepare me better for a graduate degree in nuclear engineering: electrical engineering or physics? If neither, is there another branch of science or engineering that would be better than both, such as chemistry or chemical engineering?

Physics news on Phys.org
Probably physics

I would suggest physics over electrical engineering if you are truly intending to do graduate school in nuclear engineering. However, it could be done with an electrical engineering degree. Depends on what kind of research you want to do in graduate school.

axmls said: