Two Phase - Three Phase - Whats the scoop?

In summary: If we had two fuses, both blowing on line B, we would still have single phase AC because the fuse would blow on both AB and AC.
DaVinci
I am a little embarassed asking this, as I was an aircraft electrician at one time, but have since forgotten the answer. :bugeye:

When dealing with house electricity, you commonly hear the terms two phase and three phase. Now I understand this to be that the 'waves' are 'out of phase' by a certain degree.

But why do we have them? Why multiple phases? Simple so we can tie two together to get 220V for certain appliances? Is it simply a matter of convience that we can bring in more on the same line?

Engineering news on Phys.org
There really is no such thing as two phase. Have a look at the earthing alternatives thread and you will find some good info.

This is actually the info I was looking for...

http://ths.gardenweb.com/forums/load/wiring/msg112302526261.html

Last edited by a moderator:
I know he was corrected, but in that thread one guy is bleating on about 2 phase systems. Ignore him!

Last edited:
There IS such a thing as two-phase AC. It's used with servo motors, where the phase angle determines position. But it's not used for AC power.

... In Germany and Switzerland, where three-phase power was originated and developed, it is known as Drehstrom, "rotating current" for this property of constant power. Ordinary AC is called Wechselstrom, or "change current." Nikola Tesla, the discoverer of polyphase currents and inventor of the induction motor, employed two-phase current, where the phase difference is 90°. This also can be used to create a rotating magnetic field, and is more efficient than single-phase, but is not quite as advantageous as three-phase. Two-phase power was once rather common in the United States, where Tesla was important in the introduction of AC, but has now gone completely out of use.