Two grids, one rotating, share equivalent x-y coordinates with different values.

In summary, the conversation discusses a problem with creating a Christmas toy and the need to find a formula for determining the x-y coordinates of a rotating surface on a non-rotating surface. The example given involves rotating a 2D surface on top of another 2D surface and finding the coordinates of a point on the rotating surface. The conversation also mentions using a spreadsheet to create a formula for finding the coordinates and expresses a desire for help with this task.
Rlafrog
I’m a woodworker, a math idiot, my trig hasn’t improved since I flunked it 40 years ago and I need help making a Christmas toy for my grand-kids. The values that follow are arbitrary, were extracted using eng graphics software and should be solid.

Problem: I have one 2D surface (that rotates) on a second 2D surface (that doesn’t rotate). It appears to me (?) that a given x-y point on the rotating surface can be expressed using the x-y coordinates of the non-rotating surface as a function of the degree of rotation –and also - where the axis-of rotation of the (rotating) surface lives (on the non-rotating surface).

Example:

I have a piece of graph paper with an x-y grid centered at (0,0) which I will call the Top Grid (T), and a point ‘p1’ drawn on the surface at T( 46.34, 41.69 ).

I have a piece of plywood with a grid stenciled on the surface w/ a center at (0, 0) which I will call the Bottom Grid (B).

I push a pin through the Top Grid at T(0,0) and pin it to the Bottom Grid’s point B(0,0) so that the Top Grid can rotate freely around the Bottom Grid’s center-point at (0,0). Stated differently, the axis-of-rotation for the Top Grid is point B(0, 0) on the Bottom Grid.

I align the x and y axes of both grids (rotation = 0) and mark p1 (of the Top Grid) onto the bottom grid to find that: p1(x, y) = T(x, y) = B(x, y) = ( 46.34, 41.69 ), …no surprises.