Trying to understand ground loop in a car

In summary, the car alternator might be the source of the noise coming from the mp3 player. The player needs to be able to filter the power supply noise for it to work properly. If you just bought the mp3 player, you should return it and get another one. There is also a possibility that the noise is coming from the car alternator and it may need to be replaced.
david90
I have an mp3 player in my car and i think it is having a ground loop issue. Whenever I plug it into my cig. lighter, I could hear a whining noise. The whining noise's pitch is proportional to the engine's RPM. I'm trying to fix and understand the problem because my background is electrical
http://img11.imageshack.us/img11/2213/drawing1tc.jpg

The picture above is a model of the the mp3 player and the ground loop. Is the model above accurate? Would the audio from the headphone have a whining noise that originates from the car's alternator? From my understand, the ground loop is caused by noise current flowing through Rground. Since the audio generator references the node @ Rground, the audio source picks up the noise and outputs it to the headphones.

Last edited by a moderator:
Engineering news on Phys.org
You could try and disconnect the alternator belt to see if the noise goes away, but I'd bet that you would still hear the noise. The wine that you are hearing is most likely from the ignition system. It could be from ignition plug wires that are starting to break down. There could be an ignition-coil capacitor that has gone south. You may need to install an ignition-coil capacitor to deal with the noise.

Can you try another MP3 player an see if the noise goes away?

You don't have a ground loop from the drawing. I don't believe it's ground loop problem. There only be two possible problem, first, the filtering of the 12V in the car is not good, or your mp3 does not do a good job in filtering the power supply noise.