Trying to derive the rotational acceleration.

In summary, the two equations given in the book are a good place to start when trying to derive centripetal acceleration.
PhillipKP

Homework Statement

Ok I'm trying to derive [tex]a=v^2/r[/tex]

Homework Equations

The Boas book gives me two equations to start off with:

[tex]r^2=\vec{r}*\vec{r}+constant[/tex]

and

[tex]v^2=\vec{v}*\vec{v}+constant[/tex]

The Attempt at a Solution

Where the hell did those equations come from. I know it gives me the right answer but I don't understand. I can actually do the rest of the derivation easily.

Thanks

As a grad student I am embarressed I don't know this.

Physics news on Phys.org
Can you more fully quote the Boas passage?

I'm no help on those equations, but can you see how to derive the centripital acceleration just from the nature of the circular motion, and using differentiation?

Are you sure it is [tex]r ^ 2 = \vec{r} . \vec{r} + \mbox{constant}[/tex]?

It doesn't seem true. =.="

We have:
[tex]\vec{r} . \vec{r} = |\vec{r} | \times |\vec{r} | \times \cos ( \vec{r}, \vec{r}) = r ^ 2[/tex].

Well, so it's either the constant is 0, or there is no need to write constant here.

The question says to first expand the rght side of

[tex]\vec{a} = \vec{\omega} \times \left( \vec{\omega} \times \vec{r} \right),[/tex]

and then to assume that [itex]\vec{r}[/itex] is perpendicular to [itex]\vec{\omega}.[/itex]

What do you get when you do the first step?

PhillipKP said:

Homework Statement

Ok I'm trying to derive [tex]a=v^2/r[/tex]

Homework Equations

The Boas book gives me two equations to start off with:

[tex]r^2=\vec{r}*\vec{r}+constant[/tex]

and

[tex]v^2=\vec{v}*\vec{v}+constant[/tex]
Sorry I had a typo in the first one. Here's the complete passage.

Consider the motion of a particle in a circle at constant speed. We can then write

[tex]r^2=\vec{r}*\vec{r}=constant[/tex]

and

[tex]v^2=\vec{v}*\vec{v}=constant[/tex]