Exploring the Intersection of Electrical Engineering and Physics

• Thread starter string_theory
  • Start date
In summary, if you have a deep interest in physics and are good at math, you can try to switch to physics as a career. However, this is a very personal decision and you should consider a variety of factors, including financial resources, enjoyment of the subject, and previous experience in the field.
string_theory
I am an electrical engineering student...

but I have a deep interest in physics...
what would you advice me to do?

Physics news on Phys.org
Originally posted by string_theory

Follow your own lead.

You can keep physics as a hobby, or try to switch to it. You will find examples of people that successfully jumped from EE or Computer Eng into Physics, as well as the other way around. Some may have had an extremely hard time, some may tell you not to switch, some may encourage you as if that was a magic way to happiness...

You cannot base this on statistics. It is an important personal decision.

That said, here are some things to consider:

- How good you are at math (physics' math, of course, as opposed to EE's math)
- How much do you love this stuff? (would it be enough for you to teach it? to read about it? to write about it?)
- Where are you on EE (first term? last? right in the middle?)
- Do you care for money? (which is not bad in itself: how do you picture your life in ten years? family? children? do they eat? what is your idea of being a good parent?)
- IIRC, Dirac started as an engineer
- on the other hand, very often crackpots are engineers...

very often crackpots are engineers

Hey! I resemble that remark!

Originally posted by enigma
Hey! I resemble that remark!

Resemble or resent?

Resemble... definitely resemble. :wink:

I use to be a Communication engineer in the Royal Corps of Signals, lately I'm working primarily on the Internet and IMHO Physics is more fun but unless you're VERY good there's not much money in it.