Translating Stephen Hawking: Plus/Minus Term & Black Holes

In summary, the conversation was about a Portuguese translator working on a documentary about black holes struggling to translate a dialogue between Stephen Hawking and his colleagues. Hawking mentioned the term "F plus minus" and the translator was unsure if it was the correct way to write it. Hawking was referring to his study on black holes retaining information. The correct terms could be "f_+" and "f_-". A source was provided for further reference.
Nuno_S_Oliveira
TL;DR Summary
I need urgent help on a documentary I'm working on regarding black holes.
Hi,
I'm a Portuguese translator working on a documentary about black holes and there is a specific bit of dialogue between Stephen Hawking and his colleagues that I'm having a hard time translating. Basically, Hawking says: "So, it could be the F plus minus
term takes this away." Is this the correct way to write "plus minus term"? I'm not sure, since I'm not a physicist XD. And what does it actually mean.

Btw, this is regarding a study he was conducting on black holes retaining information.

Thank you.

Likes atyy
Physics news on Phys.org
It could be ##f_+, f_-##, which are terms from black hole evaporation. E.g.

https://core.ac.uk/download/pdf/25174366.pdf

Likes atyy
I think that might be it! Thank you so much.

Likes berkeman

What is the Plus/Minus Term in Stephen Hawking's work?

The Plus/Minus Term refers to a mathematical term in Stephen Hawking's equations that accounts for both positive and negative energy in the universe. It is a crucial component in Hawking's theories on black holes and the creation of the universe.

How does the Plus/Minus Term affect our understanding of black holes?