Translating set notation to english

In summary: The idiom both ...or is often used to mean both....the dictionary notes that "or" can also have the meaning of "exclusive or".In summary, the two dictionaries support the interpretation that "either ...or" means both.
spaghetti3451
I've been trying to think of the grammatically correct way to translate A[itex]\cup[/itex]B and A[itex]\cap[/itex]B.

So, let's say A is the set of all animals and B is the set of all boats.

Then, A[itex]\cup[/itex]B is the set of all entities which are either animals or boats (or both).

And A[itex]\cap[/itex]B is the set of entities which are both animals and boats.

I'm wondering if there's any ambiguity in my translation now that I've used very precise wording. What do you think?

Physics news on Phys.org
That looks perfectly correct/precise to me.

I'm not an expert on english language by far, but doesn't "either" specifically mean one or the other and not both? This is what I always thought. I would appreciate some native english speakers to shed a light on this.

micromass said:
I'm not an expert on english language by far, but doesn't "either" specifically mean one or the other and not both? This is what I always thought. I would appreciate some native english speakers to shed a light on this.
Often but not always.

"You must choose either me or him" = either one or the other, not both
"You can run this software on either Mac or PC" = it works on both Mac and PC

One can argue that the second example should be worded more carefully, but it's a common usage.

jbunniii said:
Often but not always.

"You must choose either me or him" = either one or the other, not both
"You can run this software on either Mac or PC" = it works on both Mac and PC

One can argue that the second example should be worded more carefully, but it's a common usage.

Great! Thanks a lot!