Transition of Calcium Hydrogen-like Ion

In summary, the homework statement states that a hydrogen-like ion of calcium emits a photon with energy 756 eV. The attempt at a solution found that the energy equation is Z=20 for a calcium ion, and the Rydberg energy is 13.6 eV. The transition term is from n=3 to n'=2.
TerraForce469

Homework Statement

A hydrogen‑like ion of calcium emits a photon with energy E = 756 eV. What transition was involved?

Homework Equations

The energy equation: E=Z^2*E_R*(1/n^2-1/n'^2)

The Attempt at a Solution

First, Z=20 for a calcium ion, and E_R is the Rydberg energy 13.6 eV. Then I plugged everything in assuming that the electron which emits the photon goes back to the ground state, i.e. n=1.

However, I get n' ≈ 1.07, which does not seem sensible to me.

Any ideas or suggestions, please? Much appreciated.

Note: How do you write down the equations in a neat format on the forums? I'm a newbie so please go easy on me!

Physics news on Phys.org
If your result is wrong, one of the assumptions is wrong. In this case, the electron does not go back to the ground state.

Formula formatting -> LaTeX

mfb said:
If your result is wrong, one of the assumptions is wrong. In this case, the electron does not go back to the ground state.

Formula formatting -> LaTeX

Thank you for the formula formatting guidelines!

In that case, how do I deduce the transition involved? Because otherwise the problem doesn't state much, unless I'm missing another given assumption.

Attempt at the problem

Ok so I separated the transition term of the equation ##E=Z^2E_R(\frac{1}{n^2}-\frac{1}{n'^2})##: $$\frac{E}{Z^2E_R}=\frac{1}{n^2}-\frac{1}{n'^2}$$

and knowing that the right hand side's value, I started plugging in values for n for which $$\frac{1}{n'^2}= \frac{1}{n^2}-\frac{E}{Z^2E_R}$$ will still be come out positive.

I tried for a transition back to the n=2 state and got a close approximation to an integer value n'=9.

Could someone please check this for me?