Transferring data to/from older TI

In summary, if you want to back up data and transfer programs between your TI-86 and PC, you will need TI Connect CE software and a USB cable. The software can be downloaded for free from Texas Instruments' website.
DaleSwanson
I have a TI-86, which uses the older 1/8 inch connection. I would like to be able to back up the data (programs and constants I've defined) to my PC in case the TI gets wiped. I would also like to be able to write programs on my PC and then transfer them to the TI. Today I ordered a cable to connect the TI to USB.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00006BXBS/?tag=pfamazon01-20

I have no experience with connecting my TI to my PC, so I am looking for what programs I will need. Is there some sort of TI BASIC compiler for the PC so that I can write and debug programs and then only transfer them over once I have them working? Failing that, is it reasonable to use something like QBASIC to debug TI BASIC programs?

I notice when I download files from a http://www.ticalc.org/pub/86/basic/science/" that they come in .86p files. When I open them up in notepad they are largely readable, but clearly there is a formatting issue. What program does one use to convert a program written in notepad into a .86p file ready to be used by the TI?

Last edited by a moderator:
Computer science news on Phys.org
I'm sorry to hear that you're having trouble connecting your TI-86 to your PC. I have a similar setup, so I may be able to help.

For programming, the best option would be to use TI Connect CE software. It allows you to write, debug, and transfer programs from your PC to the TI-86. You can download it for free from Texas Instruments' website.

For transferring data from the TI-86 to the PC, you'll need the cable you ordered from Amazon. Once you have it, you'll be able to transfer .86p files from your TI-86 to the PC with the TI Connect CE software. You can then open the .86p files in Notepad and view the code.