Torque, Angular Momentum, and Conservation of Mass Problems

In summary, the conversation discussed difficulty in approaching physics problems and asked for resources on understanding torque, angular momentum, and conservation of momentum. Links were provided, but the person is still looking for book recommendations. The conversation ended with gratitude and the person feeling good about helping others.
TimeInquirer

Homework Statement

I am studying the topics listed above and have been having great difficulty getting my problems going. To explain, I am having difficulty seeing where the problem should go and attacking in that direction. I can draw out free-body diagrams but I can't see how to solve the problem using them.

Example problem: A string is attached to a top edge of a block, and there is a pivot (or sufficient friction) to keep the block from sliding. At what angle should we pull so that we can use the least force to tip the block? How much force is required?

I am not looking for an answer but rather a method to approaching such problems that ask for general solutions to the topics listed above.

Lastly, and perhaps most importantly, finding relationships between equations is something need to work on. Any resources?

Homework Equations

Not sure if this applies to my question. If so, there are many.[/B]

The Attempt at a Solution

No Idea how to start[/B]

Physics news on Phys.org
Sorry, I'll be looking into it.

Last edited:
Thank you for your reply. Unfortunately, those links provided only little help. I have yet to find a book or resource that explains torque, angular momentum, or conservation of momentum (just noticed it is wrong in the title). They all just state the equations and define what they mean. Any book recommendations?

Angular and Linear momentum.
Angular momentum and torque.
https://www.stcharlesprep.org/01_parents/vandermeer_s/Useful%20Links/Honors%20Physics/pdf%20lectures/Torque.pdf.