To become physicist which branch i should take ?

In summary, a student who has just passed their tenth standard and is not familiar with engineering branches should major in physics when they go to university. If you want to become a physicist, you should prepare for the IIT-JEE exam and get a good score.
akshay mahajan
First of all i am an eleventh class student who has just passed his tenth standard . I don't know much about engineering branches . I always admire the work of stephen hawkins and michio kaku . Please tell me the way to get my dream career as a theoretical physicist.

Physics news on Phys.org
You should probably major in physics when you go to university.

What is doing major?Please explain me about it . Also suggest some good institutions for it in India.

Hi akshay! Welcome to PF
You need to study hard and do a integrated BS-MS program in physics offered by IIT's in India. You need to prepare for IIT-JEE exam and get a good score. To become a physicist, you would need a PhD in Physics.

Is their any other institute other than iit. As get admission in iit in this competition is difficult. Also do you know about some institute in India where i could get a good job and at what salary as my parents prefer branch which get you money and fame.

The best Research Oriented University in India is IISc Bangalore, admission through KVPY & JEE. Other is cmi but the admission test of cmi is full of Mathematics.

If "full of mathematics" is a "but" in admission tests you should reconsider wanting to become a physicist, anyways. If money, fame, healthy lifestyle and sexual attractiveness to women is what you are looking for, theoretical physics is the way to go. Well, not really. But at least you have a chance to become a role model for nerdy students.

akshay mahajan said: