Tips for Approaching Physics as a Math Student

In summary, the conversation discusses the difficulties of studying undergraduate physics and the importance of having the right perspective when approaching the material. The speaker mentions their assumption that their previous math background would make physics easy, but they are struggling and looking for advice. They also mention the importance of properly setting up problems and recommend Kleppner's mechanics book for someone with a strong understanding of calculus.
andryd9
I am studying undergrad physics for the first time, and am finding it rather a stretch. I assumed because I have taken a lot of math (with some pretty interesting physics applications) that it would be easy, and am currently paying for that assumption. In my limited experience, success with most subjects comes with the proper orientation, i.e. knowing the right perspective with which to approach the material. Since I have obviously come at physics from an a**-backwards place, can anyone kindly share their a-ha moments with studying physics, or how they learned to look at the process as they improved? Any specific details of things you did, study habits, etc. would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance:)

Physics news on Phys.org
How much math have you taken? Which physics course are you on?

I am on my first calc-based physics course in a series of two, the basic for undergrads in the sciences. The last math class I took was Intro to Differential Equations.

You are not that far ahead in the math game, though the extra classes should definatly help. What aspect of physics are you having problems?