Time-reversal symmetry protection

In summary, time-reversal symmetry protection is a fundamental principle in physics that states that the laws of physics remain the same even when time is reversed. It is closely related to the concept of entropy and is observed in a wide range of physical systems. Time-reversal symmetry protection can be tested or observed in experiments by looking for violations in specific physical processes or by studying the behavior of particles and antiparticles. Its implications for our understanding of the universe include explaining the direction of physical processes and the existence of a fundamental arrow of time, as well as playing a crucial role in various areas of physics.
sagitta
Hi there! I'm a third-grade physics student and I'm trying to understand the physics of topological insulators, I have found this thread, where somebody else has already asked this question, but in that thread it wasn't really answered in details, they concentrated on other issues.

My question is: What does time-reversal invariance protection mean? As I understand intuitively, it means that if I apply magnetic field to my system or do anything with it, it doesn't change the topological phase, doesn't become simple insulator etc. But I don't really understand why. I know that some quantities are odd under t -> -t transformation and some are even, but I don't know what is the connection between this symmetry and stability of the system.

Physics news on Phys.org