Time projection chamber and energy

In summary, the conversation discusses how to calculate the energy of an incident particle in a time projection chamber. The method involves using the charges collected by the anode and the energy needed to create an electron/ion pair in the gas. The Bethe-Block formula is also mentioned as a way to find the energy, but it may not work for high energy particles. Another method is to use a uniform magnetic field to track the particles and infer their momentum, which is equal to the energy in the relativistic domain.
florianb
Hi all !

I'm currently studying time projection chambers and I am wondering how the energy of the incident particle (the one that ionizes the gas in the drift chamber) is calculated from the measured signals.

Does anyone have some hints for me ?

Thanks a lot for your answers.
Best regards

Physics news on Phys.org
A candle in the dark

Hi

It is quite simple:

- You have access to a number of charges (electrons) collected by the anode in your TPC when a ionizing particule came in
- you may know the energy needed to create a electron/ion pair in your gaz (in eV)

- so you can infer the energy lost by the particule in the gaz

- you know the energy lost (dE) fot a length (dx) of gaz

- you just assume (in first approximation) that your particule lost her E in a continue way

- then, by using Bethe-Block formulae, you have the incident E of you particule (cos' you already know the A,Z,rho,I of your gaz..)

You may be able to find better way to find it, but I think it works (by asking my memories ...)

Thus ...

Thanks

Thanks a lot Wolverine !

I came to the same conclusions, but I was still quite unsure about it (I'm not used to Bethe-Bloch, so this looked fuzzy to me).

All the best !

wolverine said:
- then, by using Bethe-Block formulae, you have the incident E of you particule (cos' you already know the A,Z,rho,I of your gaz..)

Thus ...